10 best underrated songs of Hello!Project

January 8, 2015 at 2:21 AM 4 comments

Yes, finally another countdown. I really like those. Everybody’s busy making their Top of 2014 lists but I thought I’d do something a bit different (and probably do my Top of 2014 list later ==).

Hello!Project has many amazing songs that are rather too old or need a bit more time on one’s mp3 player to gain more acknowledgement among fans. I hope that you’ll find something nice for yourself or relive some good oldies you might have once listened to *sniff*.

The order is completely random.

Smile Bijin by S/mileage

It’s not so old but still there’s nearly not enough buzz around this great song. Lyrics are pretty random. The usual broken-hearted teenage angst. So what’s so ear-catching about it? The beginning. It makes you think of Yume miru 15, which was an EPIC song on its own. I highly recommend it!

subbed by amazing StillCrypticShadow8

I know by Matuura Aya

I’m not a huge Aya fan although I appreciate her amazing vocals and pure idol perfection. She’s just not my favourite. A bit too cheesy with earlier singles and a bit too mature with later ones. However, I know is so catchy that you just can’t help yourself with those Oh yeahs. I’d love to dance with her during a live performance.

Dekoboko Seventeen by W(double u)

Sighs. Aibon, my sweet Aibon. Lyrics combined with the very serious beat do not match at all but so what. I just love this seriousness. Very rare in idol songs. Their voices blend so well together. I’m always happy to watch any newer renditions of this song.

Kuchibiru Kara Ai wo Choudai by v-u-den

Those times when we all thought that v-u-den is the stupidest group name ever. Well, Tsunku likes to prove us wrong. But to get back to the song, again music doesn’t match the lyrics at all. But if you firget about the stupid meaning it’s an epic, aggressive song in which I forget how horrible all three of the vocalists sound.

Sweets →→→live by C-ute

I was never Kanna’s fan (were there any?) and Chisato needed more time to grow on me. Back then, with the LOVE escalation album, she was just a tomboy with a strange face and strong voice. The song was an instant favourite for me not because of the girls but purely because of the catchy melody. It’s really non-explainable.

Renaitte Nani? by Kago Ai

Well, with this one it’s a bit tricky. Aibon is my all time favourite and this might have biased my choice a tiny bit. Would I claim it’s a great song? Yes *coughmaybecough*. Would I claim that the lyrics are meaningful? Kinda *coughNOTcough*. Oh, just give it a try! Isn’t she the most adorable thing ever?!

Da Di Du De Do Da Di by Morning Musume

Don’t look at me like that! I know the title is ridiculous. I know the lyrics are random at best but it’s a really warm song designed for many idols to sing together and just hug and kiss a lot. Solo version of this sing just don’t work well for me. Even Aibon’s version is not so appealing to me. It’s nice but not great.

Do Don Ga Don Ondo by C-ute Erika Umeda (mainly)

*hands up* Don’t shoot! It’s not my fault this song is so unbelievably catchy. It’s silly, it’s nonsensical, it’s Erika Umeda’s disastrous vocals but I LOVE it. We need more of this song live. I bet Chisato would pull it off so well.

Zettai Tokeru Mondai X = ❤ by Matsuura Aya

This song gives me so much good energy. Just imagine yourself jumping with the crowd and chanting GO ON! GOING TO GO! Sheesh, this song is just plain stupid. But it’s pure win. There’s something very infectious about it that makes me smile and want to run and I swear to God I hate running.

with a surprise appearance at the end…

Love da*yo Darling by Kusumi Koharu

Another silly, over the top, nonsensical song for little girls that I really enjoy. It’s the perfect example of the famous Koharu’s spazz. She might be a lousy singer, a mediocre dancer but as an entertainer she’s the one you’re looking for. This is the spazztastic anime-mode-on Koharu that you either love or begrudgingly admit that even Momo is less annoying.

Anything you’d like to add? 🙂

nyuchandesu


 

 

Entry filed under: Ranking. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

My personal firsts of 2014 2014 rankings – Top 5 songs to mask the sound of bricks in your washing machine

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Max Muldenhutten  |  January 8, 2015 at 5:26 AM

    Berryz kobo[Arigato Otomodachi]

    Reply
    • 2. ladybird  |  January 8, 2015 at 12:23 PM

      Oh, it’s a great song 🙂 I know it as the tribute song or the OPV song because I’ve seen many videos with it as the background music. I wonder if they’re gonna sing it for their last concert.

      Reply
      • 3. Max Muldenhutten  |  January 8, 2015 at 3:16 PM

        This song was the Encore for their stage play “Phone Call from Edo”

        Reply
        • 4. ladybird  |  January 8, 2015 at 3:26 PM

          Really? I didn’t know that. I should watch it 🙂

          Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories


